County Commissioners

Democratic Candidates Accept Debate Challenges

Earlier this month, the Democratic candidates for Morris County Commissioner, T.C. McCourt, Judy Hernandez, and Alicia Sharma, accepted the League of Women Voters’ invitation to participate in a candidate forum, but their Republican opponents declined.

This was part of a trend across Morris County in which Democratic candidates accepted debate invitations, but the Republicans ducked out.

As a result, there are no debates in many towns with contested elections, including:

  • Chatham Borough Council
  • Chatham Township Committee
  • Dover Board of Alderman
  • Madison Council
  • Mendham Borough Mayor and Council
  • Mendham Township Committee
  • Morris Plains Mayor and Council
  • Morris Township Committee

The voters of Morris County deserve a discussion of the issues we face today and will face in the future. We urge the Republican candidates to join us in organizing forums for our candidates.

— Amalia Duarte

Similar Posts